|   
More e-books will be available soon

   www.eolss.net

Login Login
      EOLSS Members Login Individual Members Login
      Access for Institutions Access for Institutions
      EOLSS Demo EOLSS Demo

Free Registration Free Registration
      EOLSS Free Trial Free Trial
      EOLSS Editors/Authors Editors/Authors

Subscription Information Subscription Information
      EOLSS Subscription Information Subscription Information

About EOLSS About EOLSS
      About EOLSS About EOLSS
      Outlines of the EOLSS Components Outlines of the
         Component Encyclopedias
      EOLSS e-books e-Book And Print
       Volumes
      EOLSS Information Booklet Information Booklet
      EOLSS FAQ FAQ
      EOLSS Sample Chapters Sample Chapters
      EOLSS Sample Chapters Sitemap

Journalist/Reporters Information for
   Journalist / Reporters
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Arabic Arabic
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Chinese Chinese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in English English
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in French French
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in German German
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Italian Italian
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Japanese Japanese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Korean Korean
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Portuguese Portuguese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Russian Russian
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Spanish Spanish

Services Services
     EOLSS Mailing List Join Our Mailing List
      EOLSS Feedback Feedback/Evaluation
      EOLSS Useful links Useful Links

Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems
Encyclopédie sur le développement durable (EOLSS)

Arabic |Chinese* |English |German|Italian |Japanese |Russian* |Portuguese |Spanish | Korean

(* will be available soon)

La plus grande et la plus complète à l'échelle mondiale, jamais publiée sur le développement durable. Elle couvre tous les aspects du développement sur des sujets éducatifs, professionnels, instructifs et sur les connaissances de base intégrées et consacrées à la santé, à l'hygiène et au futur du Web qui exprimera l'intelligence collective de l'humanité pour une meilleure vie sur Terre. Ceci tout en visant un développement durable qui répond aux besoins du présent sans compromettre la capacité des générations futures, et chercher à préserver l’intégrité écologique et la sécurité humaine.

 L’Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS) est l’aboutissement d'un effort global, d’un travail original et d'une décennie de préparation. Des experts de différentes spécialités ont contribué à la réalisation de cette publication exceptionnelle.

 EOLSS est constituée par une série d’articles et contributions des milliers de savants de plus de 100 pays et éditée par plus de 300 experts reconnus. Le contenu couvre 235 principaux thèmes sous forme de sommaires abrégés de 19 composantes de l’encyclopédie.

1. SCIENCES DE LA TERRE ET DE L’ATMOSPHERE
2. SCIENCES MATHEMATIQUES
3. SCIENCES BIOLOGIQUES, PHYSIOLOGIQUES ET DE LA SANTE
4. BIOTECHNOLOGIE (disponible en automne 2008)
5. BIOLOGIE TROPICALE ET CONSERVATION DES RESSOURCES NATURELLES
6. SCIENCES SOCIALES ET HUMAINES
7. SCIENCES PHYSIQUES, INGENIERIE ET RESSOURCES TECHNOLOGIQUES
8. SCIENCES CHIMIQUES, INGENIERIE ET RESSOURCES TECHNOLOGIQUES
9. SYSTEMES DE CONTROLE, ROBOTIQUE ET AUTOMATIQUE (disponible en automne 2008)
10. SCIENCES DE L’EAU, INGENIERIE ET RESSOURCES TECHNOLOGIQUES
11. SCIENCES ENERGETIQUES, INGENIERIE ET RESSOURCES TECHNOLOGIQUES
12. SCIENCES ENVIRONNEMENTALES ET ECOLOGIQUES, INGENIERIE ET RESSOURCES TECHNOLOGIQUES
13. ALIMENTATION ET SCIENCES AGRICOLES, INGENIERIE ET RESSOURCES TECHNOLOGIQUES
14. RESSOURCES HUMAINES, POLITIQUE ET GESTION
15. RESSOURCES NATURELLES, POLITIQUE ET GESTION
16. DEVELOPPEMENT ET SCIENCE ECONOMIQUE
17. RESSOURCES INSTITUTIONNELLES ET INFRASTRUCTURELLES
18. TECHNOLOGIE, INFORMATION ET SYSTEME DE GESTION DES RESSOURCES
19. REVUES SUR LE DÉVELOPPEMENT DURABLE REGIONALE

 Au travers de plusieurs et différents exercices de consultation à l’échelle mondiale, l'EOLSS a bénéficié des conseils avisés de chaque membre de l’académie et près de 1000 conseillers éditoriaux internationaux, incluant les lauréats du Nobel et UN Kalinga, les lauréats du prix mondial de l’alimentation et plusieurs membres titulaires et associés de l’Académie des sciences et d’ingénierie des pays à travers le monde.

 EOLSS a été officiellement publiée sur internet : www.eolss.net par le Directeur général de l'UNESCO pendant le sommet mondial sur le développement durable à Johannesburg, Afrique du Sud qui s’est déroulé le 3 septembre 2002. 

Elle essaie de forger des voies entre les disciplines pour mettre en œuvre leur interdépendance en favorisant les aspects transdisciplinaires de la relation entre la nature et la société humaine. Elle présente une vision en détail des sujets interdisciplinaires, aussi des sujets disciplinaires ou sujets principaux crées et  traités en détail par des experts mondiaux.

 L'encyclopédie est conçue pour être un guide et une référence pour des utilisateurs différents: scientifiques sociaux et naturels, ingénieurs, économistes, éducateurs, étudiants, professeurs universitaires, protecteurs et aménageurs de la nature, entrepreneurs, responsables politiques et décideurs. Le projet d'EOLSS est coordonné par la Comité mixte UNESCO-EOLSS.

 Les meilleurs efforts ont été conçus pour rendre l'EOLSS plus accessible par un public global. Cet effort est bien engagé pour atteindre la dimension d'un véritable Service d'Information sur l'éducation et le développement durable.

 L’accès à l’EOLSS mise en ligne est gratuit pour les universités des 50 pays les moins avancés (PMA) figurant sur la liste officielle des Nations Unies.  Les PMA sont les suivants: 

1        Afghanistan 18       Haïti 35       République démocratique du Congo
2        Angola 19       Iles Salomon 36       République démocratique populaire lao
3         Bangladesh 20       Kiribati 37       Rwanda
4         Bénin

21       Lesotho

38       Samoa
5         Bhoutan 22       Libéria 39       Sao Tomé-et-Principe
6         Burkina Faso 23       Madagascar 40       Sénégal
7         Burundi 24       Malawi 41       Sierra Leone
8         Cambodge

25       Maldives

42       Somalie

9         Cap-Vert 26       Mali 43       Soudan
10       Comores

27       Mauritanie

44       Tchad

11       Djibouti 28       Mozambique

45       Timor-Leste

12       Erythrée

29       Myanmar

46       Togo

13       Ethiopie 30       Népal 47       Tuvalu
14       Gambie 31       Niger 48       Vanuatu
15       Guinée 32       Ouganda

49       Yémen

16       Guinée-Bissau 33       République centrafricaine 50       Zambie
17    Guinée équatoriale 34       République-Unie de Tanzanie  

“L’Encyclopédia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS) n’a pas d’équivalent parmi les encyclopédies traditionnelles. Elle est le fruit d’un effort sans précédent, à l’échelle mondiale, pour établir des passerelles entre disciplines, de façon à affronter les problèmes contemporains, a déclaré Koïchiro Matsuura, Directeur général de l’UNESCO. Ressource de connaissances qui associe nos préoccupations en faveur de la paix, du progrès et du développement durable, l’encyclopédie est fondée sur l’éthique scientifique et la culture de paix. En même temps, c’est une publication tournée vers l’avenir, conçue comme un guide mondial pour les activités professionnelles, l’éducation et une prise de conscience, par la société, des questions cruciales liées au maintien de la vie sur Terre. En particulier, l’encyclopédie prend en compte les points de vue des régions et des cultures à travers le monde et s’efforce d’échapper à tout préjugé géographique, racial, culturel, politique, sexuel, générationnel ou religieux. ”

 “EOLSS a pour objectif de fournir des connaissances de base sur la prolongation de la durée de vie humaine dans un environnement accueillant., selon Richard R. Ernst, lauréat Nobel en chimie.

 Leon M. Lederman, lauréat Nobel dans la physique a souligné: “ L'EOLSS est non seulement appropriée mais aussi imaginative et à ma connaissance, elle est unique. La plupart des sujets concernant la science, l’énergie et la consolidation de notre base de connaissance peuvent être traitées dans la majorité des encyclopédies, mais je constate que votre vision n’est jamais un thème central, thème de l’humanité intégré dans la nature contraint de trouver des solutions pour maintenir la relation avec cette nature basée sur la compréhension et le respect. ”

 Dans la déclaration de M.S. Swaminathan, lauréat du prix mondial de l’alimentation :       “ l’éco-technologie conduit d’une façon approprié à un mélange des technologies traditionnelles et de la prudence écologique comme la biotechnologie, la technologie d’information, la technologie de l’espace, les nouveaux matériaux, la technologie de l’énergie renouvelable et la technologie de gestion. Ces technologies peuvent nous aider à promouvoir un développement durable global qui entraîne, d’une part,  une harmonie entre l’humanité et la nature et d’autre part,  la tolérance et le respect de la diversité et le pluralisme dans les sociétés humaines. Nous nécessitons un changement de la technologie et de la politique publique. Ceci est un compromis que l’EOLSS  a élaborée pour aboutir à des objectifs capitaux ”

 D’après Jean-Marie Lehn, lauréat Nobel en chimie : ” La recherche de la connaissance et de la vérité remplace les considérations présentes ou les questions qui se posent sur la nature, la vie et le monde idéal que nous voulons. L’évaluation éthique et les règles de justice ont été changé et elles changeront pour s’adapter à l’évolution du temps. La loi est conçue pour l’homme pas le contraire et si cette loi n’est plus convenable, changez là…mais c’est arrogant d’essayer de changer la nature ; l’arrogance c’est de prétendre que nous sommes parfaits. Malgré les risques rencontrés et avec toutes les précautions prises il faut réfléchir prudemment à ce que l'on s'apprête à faire ou à décider. L’espèce humaine doit suivre son chemin prévu sans détruire son futur….IL faut suivre notre chemin du forte connaissance jusqu’à le contrôle du destin. ”

 J. L.  Lions, lauréat du prix du Japon dans les mathématiques appliquées a déclaré : “ EOLSS est concerné par la sûreté et la protection de la vie…. Ses systèmes sont complexes. …Il faut considérer ces “ systèmes ” comme des sub-systèmes étroitement liés du système planète terre. La situation est extrêmement différente pour la plupart des modèles élaborés pour la sûreté et la protection de la vie…pas un seul mais une hiérarchie de modèles. Des exemples de ces situations sont présentés dans l’encyclopédie. … Les plus difficiles sont les problèmes globaux qui visent plusieurs objectifs avec un conflit d’intérêt. …Des décisions rationnelles seront possibles pour envisager de coupler les modèles physiques, économiques et les modèles financiers à des facteurs humains…Ces questions difficiles et fondamentales sont prioritaires dans l’encyclopédie. ”

 S.P. Kapitza, lauréat du gagnant prix UNESCO Kalinga a déclaré: “ Le développement, dans les années qui viennent, de la population de notre planète nécessite de cerner les problèmes globaux, il semble donc raisonnable de commencer à les discuter avec la population en croissance. … Ceci est lié à l’interdisciplinarité du problème pour chercher à décrire l’ensemble des expériences humaines, depuis son apparition. Mais sans la perspective du temps, il ne sera pas possible de mieux prévoir le futur et élaborer, dans les conditions présentes, une perspective objective pour un développement durable, soit disant, pour relever un défi capital de l’humanité. ”

 “ Nos espoirs, en ce qui concerne la paix et la sécurité dans le monde, reposent sur une coopération internationale renforcée, destinée à protéger le réseau des systèmes qui soutiennent la vie, systèmes que nous détruisons chaque jour un peu plus, d’une façon si absurde. Nous partageons une seule planète. Pour nous, comme pour les générations futures, il n’existe aucun autre lieu habitable, souligne M. K. Tolba, ancien Directeur exécutif du Programme des Nations Unies pour l’environnement et éditeur d’une version imprimée de l’encyclopédie, en deux volumes. Nous espérons que l’encyclopédie pourra fournir l’impulsion nécessaire et les ressources de connaissance pour permettre à l’humanité de s’engager dans la bonne direction et d’avancer vers un développement durable. “

 “La plupart des projets des Nations Unies d’une envergure comparable commencent par une consultation des représentants gouvernementaux. Dans le cas présent, nous sommes entrés en contact direct avec les communautés scientifiques concernées “, explique Andras Szollosi-Nagy, membre du comité conjoint et Directeur de la Division des sciences de l'eau à l’UNESCO. En 1996, des milliers de scientifiques, d’ingénieurs et de décideurs politiques ont commencé à se rencontrer pour définir l’étendue du projet, avant de discuter le détail des contributions. Des ateliers régionaux ont été tenus à Washington DC, Tokyo, Moscou, Mexico, Beijing, Panama, Abou Sultan et Kuala Lumpur pour mettre au point des listes de sujets possibles et débattre des approches analytiques pour les traiter. ”

 “Dès le départ, il nous fallait être absolument certains qu’aucune école de pensée ne dominerait le fondement conceptuel de l’encyclopédie, ajoute Andras Szollosi-Nagy. Ce processus démocratique a guidé le développement de l’encyclopédie dans chacune de ses étapes. Avec des milliers d’auteurs, originaires de plus de 100 pays, les éditeurs ont mis au point un mécanisme d’autorégulation qui garantit que les sujets abordés ne sont pas dominés par une vision occidentale. “

 Des équipes d’experts mettront régulièrement à jour les diverses entrées sur Internet, faisant ainsi de l’encyclopédie “ une librairie vivante et un site consacré à l’action, bien plus qu’une simple publication “, selon Mustafa El Tayeb, secrétaire du comité conjoint UNESCO-EOLSS, Directeur de la Division des politiques scientifiques et du développement durable (SC/PSD). Au cours des prochaines années, elle atteindra sa taille finale, soit environ 70 millions de mots (l’équivalent de 200 volumes), à la faveur de nouvelles éditions et de mises à jour trimestrielles. EOLSS devient rapidement un site de référence à l’échelle mondiale.

 

 


© Copyright 2002-2016 Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems.
|  Terms of Use & Disclaimer  |   Privacy Policy  |

|   
More e-books will be available soon

   www.eolss.net

Login Login
      EOLSS Members Login Individual Members Login
      Access for Institutions Access for Institutions
      EOLSS Demo EOLSS Demo

Free Registration Free Registration
      EOLSS Free Trial Free Trial
      EOLSS Editors/Authors Editors/Authors

Subscription Information Subscription Information
      EOLSS Subscription Information Subscription Information

About EOLSS About EOLSS
      About EOLSS About EOLSS
      Outlines of the EOLSS Components Outlines of the
         Component Encyclopedias
      EOLSS e-books e-Book And Print
       Volumes
      EOLSS Information Booklet Information Booklet
      EOLSS FAQ FAQ
      EOLSS Sample Chapters Sample Chapters
      EOLSS Sample Chapters Sitemap

Journalist/Reporters Information for
   Journalist / Reporters
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Arabic Arabic
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Chinese Chinese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in English English
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in French French
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in German German
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Italian Italian
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Japanese Japanese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Korean Korean
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Portuguese Portuguese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Russian Russian
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Spanish Spanish

Services Services
     EOLSS Mailing List Join Our Mailing List
      EOLSS Feedback Feedback/Evaluation
      EOLSS Useful links Useful Links

An Encyclopedia with a difference:
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF LIFE SUPPORT SYSTEMS (EOLSS)

Arabic |Chinese* |French |German |Italian |Japanese |Russian* |Portuguese |Spanish | Korean

(* will be available soon)

The World’s largest, state-of-the-art, educational, professional, informative, and integrated knowledge base dedicated to the health, maintenance, and future of the web of life on planet Earth, focusing on sustainable development in all its myriad aspects from ecological issues to human security!

The EOLSS is the result of an unprecedented global effort and a decade of planning. The leading experts who have contributed to this state-of-the-art publication come from diverse fields.

Peer reviewed body of state-of-the-art archival knowledge edited by over 395 subject experts with contributions from over 8000 reputed authors from more than 100 countries. The content covers more than 235 major theme subjects as an integrated compendium of 20 component encyclopedias.

1.  EARTH AND ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES
2.  MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES
3.  BIOLOGICAL, PHYSIOLOGICAL AND HEALTH SCIENCES
4.  BIOTECHNOLOGY
5.  TROPICAL BIOLOGY AND CONSERVATION OF NATURAL RESOURCES
6.  LAND USE, LAND COVER AND SOIL SCIENCES
7.  SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES
8.  PHYSICAL SCIENCES, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
9.  CHEMICAL SCIENCES ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
10. CONTROL SYSTEMS, ROBOTICS AND AUTOMATION
11. WATER SCIENCES, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
12. ENERGY SCIENCES, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
13. ENVIRONMENTAL AND ECOLOGICAL SCIENCES, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
14. FOOD AND AGRICULTURAL SCIENCES, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
15. HUMAN RESOURCES POLICY, DEVELOPMENT AND MANAGEMENT
16. NATURAL RESOURCES POLICY AND MANAGEMENT
17. DEVELOPMENT AND ECONOMIC SCIENCES
18. INSTITUTIONAL AND INFRASTRUCTURAL RESOURCES
19. TECHNOLOGY, INFORMATION AND SYSTEM MANAGEMENT RESOURCES
20. AREA STUDIES (REGIONAL SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT REVIEWS):
       Brazil, China, Japan, USA and Canada, Europe, Russia.

 

Through the many and diverse consultation exercises around the world, the EOLSS has benefited immensely from the academic, intellectual, and scholarly advice of each and every member of the nearly 1000-strong International Editorial Council, which includes Nobel and UN Kalinga Laureates, World Food Prize Laureates and several fellows of academies of science and engineering of countries throughout the world.

EOLSS was officially released on the Internet at (www.eolss.net ) by the UNESCO Director General on the 3rd September 2002 during the World Summit on Sustainable Development in Johannesburg, South Africa.

It attempts to forge pathways between disciplines in order to show their interdependence and helps foster the transdisciplinary aspects of the relationship between nature and human society. It deals in detail with interdisciplinary subjects, but it is also disciplinary as each major core subject is covered in great depth, by world experts. 

The Encyclopedia is designed to be a guide and reference for a wide range of users: from natural and social scientists to engineers, economists, educators, university students and professors, conservationists, entrepreneurs, law and policy-makers. The EOLSS project is coordinated by the UNESCO-EOLSS Joint Committee.

Best efforts are being made to make the EOLSS widely accessible to the global public and this effort is widely admired for espousing education for sustainable development.

EOLSS-online is made available free of charge to universities in the UN list of least developed countries and disadvantaged individuals worldwide.  Presently the following 50 nations are enjoying this privilege:

1              Afghanistan  17            Etiopia 34            Niger
2              Angola  18            Gambia 35            Ruanda
3              Bangladesh 19            Guinea 36            Samoa
4              Benin

20            Guinea Bissau

37            São Tomé e Principe
5              Bhutan 21            Haiti 38            Senegal
6              Burkina Faso 22            Kiribati 39            Sierra Leone
7              Burundi 23            Laos 40            Isole Salomone
8              Cambogia

24            Lesotho

41            Somalia

9              Capo Verde 25            Liberia 42            Sudan
10            Repubblica Centrafricana

26            Madagascar

43            Timor-Lesté

11            Ciad 27            Malawi

44            Togo

12            Comore

28            Maldive

45            Tuvalu

13            Repubblica Democratica  del  Congo 29            Mali 46            Uganda
14            Gibuti 30            Mauritania 47            Tanzania
15            Guinea Equatoriale 31            Mozambico

48            Vanuatu

16            Eritrea 32            Birmania 49            Yemen
  33            Nepal 50            Zambia

 

“The Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems is different from traditional encyclopedias. It is the result of an unprecedented world-wide effort that has attempted to forge pathways between disciplines in order to address contemporary problems” said UNESCO Director General Koïchiro Matsuura. “A source-book of knowledge that links together our concern for peace, progress, and sustainable development, the EOLSS draws sustenance from the ethics, science and culture of peace. At the same time, it is a forward-looking publication, designed as a global guide to professional practice, education, and heightened social awareness of critical life support issues. In particular, the EOLSS presents perspectives from regions and cultures around the world, and seeks to avoid geographic, racial, cultural, political, gender, age, or religious bias.”

“EOLSS has the goal to provide a firm knowledge base for future activities to prolong the lifetime of the human race in a hospitable environment”, according to Richard R. Ernst, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry.

Leon M. Lederman, Nobel Laureate in Physics remarked: “The EOLSS is not only appropriate, but it is imaginative and, to my knowledge, unique. Much of what we can write about science, about energy, about our far-ranging knowledge base, can indeed be found in major encyclopedias, but as I understand your vision, never as a central theme; the theme of humanity, embedded in nature and constrained to find ways of maintaining a relationship with nature based upon understanding and respect.”

In the words of M.S. Swaminathan, First World Food Prize Winner, “Ecotechnology involving appropriate blends of traditional technologies and the ecological prudence of the past with frontier technologies such as biotechnology, information technology, space technology, new materials, renewable energy technology and management technology, can help us to promote global sustainable development involving harmony between humankind and nature on the one hand and tolerance and love of diversity and pluralism in human societies on the other. We need shifts in technology and public policy. This is a challenging task to which the Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems should address itself.”

According to Jean-Marie Lehn, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry : “Pursuit of knowledge and truth supersedes present considerations of what nature, life or the world are or should be, for our own vision can only be a narrow one. Ethical evaluation and rules of justice have changed and will change over time and will have to adapt. Law is made for man, not man for law. If it does not fit any more, change it…. Some think that it is being arrogant to try to modify nature; arrogance is to claim that we are perfect as we are! With all the caution that must be exercised and despite the risks that will be encountered, carefully pondering each step, mankind must and will continue along its path, for we have no right to switch off the lights of the future…. We have to walk the path from the tree of knowledge to the control of destiny.”

J.L. Lions, Japan Prize winner in Applied Mathematics said:  “EOLSS is concerned with the Life Support Systems…. Each of these systems is a very complex one. …we have to think of all these “systems” as closely related “subsystems” of the Planet Earth System. The situation is extremely different in most of life support systems modeling…. There is not one model, but a hierarchy of models. Examples of these situations will be given throughout the Encyclopedia. … More delicate are the global problems, involving several goals, with possible conflicts of interest. …Rational decisions will be more and more possible to envision if one will be able to couple the physical modeling to economic and financial models and to human factors…. These delicate and fundamental questions will deserve a lot of attention in the Encyclopedia.”

S.P. Kapitza, UNESCO Kalinga Prize Winner said: “The population of our planet and its development over the ages sets the scene for considering all global problems and it is reasonable to begin their discussion with population growth. … Thus we are dealing with an interdisciplinary problem in an attempt to describe the total human experience, right from its very beginning. But without this perspective of time it is not possible to objectively assess what is happening today and provide an objective view of the present state of development, the challenge now facing humanity.”

“Our best hopes for future peace and global security rely upon strengthened international cooperation to protect the web of life support systems that we destroy, so ridiculously, day in and day out. We share only one planet. We—and future generations—have nowhere else to go,” according to Mostafa K. Tolba, formerly Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme and the editor of ‘Our Fragile World: Challenges and Opportunities for Sustainable Development’ a two volume publication in about 2300 pages published in 2001 as forerunner to the Encyclopedia. “It is hoped that the encyclopedia will provide the necessary impetus and knowledge support to enable humanity to choose the right direction to move towards sustainable development.”

“Most United Nations projects of this size begin by consulting government representatives. But EOLSS went straight to the scientific communities involved,” said Andras Szollosi-Nagy, a member of the UNESCO-EOLSS Joint Committee and Director of UNESCO’s International Hydrological Programme. In 1996 thousands of scientists, engineers and policy-makers began meeting just to define the scope of the project, before discussing the details of the contributions. Regional workshops were held in Washington DC, Tokyo, Moscow, Mexico City, Beijing, Panama, Abu Sultan (Egypt), and Kuala Lumpur to develop a list of possible subjects and debate analytical approaches for treating them.

“From the start, we had to be absolutely certain that one school of thought did not dominate the conceptual basis of the encyclopedia,” said Szollosi-Nagy. “This democratic process guided every step in the encyclopedia’s development. With thousands of authors from more than 100 countries the editors have set up a self-regulating mechanism to ensure that the subjects are considered from a variety of cultures and perspectives.”

Teams of experts are working to regularly update the various sections of the web-based encyclopedia, making EOLSS a “living virtual library and a site for action rather than just a publication,” according to Mustafa El Tayeb, Director, Division for Science Policy and Sustainable Development (SC/PSD), UNESCO and Secretary of the UNESCO-EOLSS Joint Committee. Soon, it will mature to its full size of about 70 million words (equivalent to about 200 volumes) by augmentation and updating as often as every month. EOLSS is rapidly becoming the most sought after reference site in the World.

 

 


© Copyright 2002-2016 Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems.
|  Terms of Use & Disclaimer  |   Privacy Policy  |