|   
More e-books will be available soon

   www.eolss.net

Login Login
      EOLSS Members Login Individual Members Login
      Access for Institutions Access for Institutions
      EOLSS Demo EOLSS Demo

Free Registration Free Registration
      EOLSS Free Trial Free Trial
      EOLSS Editors/Authors Editors/Authors

Subscription Information Subscription Information
      EOLSS Subscription Information Subscription Information

About EOLSS About EOLSS
      About EOLSS About EOLSS
      Outlines of the EOLSS Components Outlines of the
         Component Encyclopedias
      EOLSS e-books e-Book And Print
       Volumes
      EOLSS Information Booklet Information Booklet
      EOLSS FAQ FAQ
      EOLSS Sample Chapters Sample Chapters
      EOLSS Sample Chapters Sitemap

Journalist/Reporters Information for
   Journalist / Reporters
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Arabic Arabic
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Chinese Chinese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in English English
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in French French
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in German German
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Italian Italian
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Japanese Japanese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Korean Korean
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Portuguese Portuguese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Russian Russian
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Spanish Spanish

Services Services
     EOLSS Mailing List Join Our Mailing List
      EOLSS Feedback Feedback/Evaluation
      EOLSS Useful links Useful Links

ENZYKLOPÄDIE DER LEBENSERHALTUNGSSYSTEME(EOLSS)

Arabic |Chinese* |French |English |Italian |Japanese |Russian* |Portuguese |Spanish | Korean

(* will be available soon)

Die EOLSS stellt für pädagogische, professionelle und informative Zwecke die derzeitig modernste und umfassendste Wissensbasis dar, die der Gesundheit, Erhaltung und Zukunft der komplexen Struktur des Lebens auf dem Planeten Erde gewidmet ist. Sie ist fokusiert auf  eine nachhaltige Entwicklung des Lebens in all seinen unzähligen Aspekten, ausgehend von ökologischen Gesichtspunkten bis hin zur Sicherheit der Menschheit.

Die EOLSS ist das Ergebnis einer beispiellosen weltumspannenden Leistung von Fachleuten und einer zehnjährigen Planung. Führende Experten aus den verschiedensten Fachrichtungen  haben zu dieser modernsten Publikation beigetragen.

Die EOLSS enthält Beiträge von mehreren Tausend Wissenschaftlern aus über 100 Ländern, die  von mehr als 300 Sachgebietsexperten redigiert wurden. Der Inhalt umfasst 235 Hauptthemengebiete, die wiederum in den nachfolgend aufgelisteten 19 Komponenten-Enzyklopädien zusammen gefasst sind:

1. GEOWISSENSCHAFTEN UND METEOROLOGIE
2. MATHEMATIK
3. BIOLOGIE, PHYSIOLOGIE UND GESUNDHEIT
4. BIOTECHNIK (ab 2008 als eigenständige Enzyklopädie verfügbar)
5. TROPENBIOLOGIE UND ERHALT NATÜRLICHER RESOURCEN
6. SOZIAL- UND HUMANWISSENSCHAFTEN
7. PHYSIK, INGENIEURWISSENSCHAFTEN UND TECHNISCHE RESOURCEN
8. CHEMIE, VERFAHRENSTECHNIK UND TECHNISCHE RESOURCEN
9. REGELUNGSTECHNIK, ROBOTIK UND AUTOMATISIERUNGSTECHNIK (ab 2008 als eigenständige Enzyklopädie verfügbar)
10. WASSERTECHNOLOGIE UND TECHNISCHE RESOURCEN
11. ENERGIETECHNIK UND TECHNISCHE RESOURCEN
12. UMWELTTECHNIK,ÖKOLOGIE UND TECHNISCHE RESOURCEN
13. ERNÄHRUNGSWISSENSCHAFT, LEBENSMITTELTECHNOLOGIE, LANDWIRTSCHAFT, AGRARTECHNIK UND TECHNISCHE RESOURCEN
14. POLITIK UND MANAGEMENT MENSCHLICHER RESOURCEN
15. POLITIK UND MANAGEMENT NATÜRLICHER RESOURCEN
16. ENTWICKLUNGS- UND WIRTSCHAFTSWISSENSCHAFT
17. INSTITUTIONELLE UND INFRASTRUKTURELLE RESOURCEN
18. RESOURCEN FÜR TECHNIK, INFORMATIONS- UND SYSTEMMANAGEMENT
19. REGIONALE ÜBERPRÜFUNG DER NACHHALTIGEN ENTWICKLUNG
 

Durch die vielen und verschiedenartigen Beratungsgespräche, die weltweit geführt wurden, hat die EOLSS in unermeßlichem Umfang vom akademischen, intellektuellen und gelehrten Wissen eines jeden der fast 1 000 Mitglieder des Beirates des Herausgebers profitiert, unter denen sich auch Nobelpreisträger, UN-Kalinga-Preisträger, Träger des World Food Prize und verschiedene Mitglieder von nationalen Akademien der Wissenschaften aus der ganzen Welt befanden.

Anläßlich des Weltgipfels über „Nachhalige Entwicklung“ in Johannesburg, Südafrika, wurde die EOLSS am 3. September 2002 vom Generaldirektor der UNESCO offiziell in das Internet gestellt (www.eolss.net).

Diese Enzyklopädie versucht, Verbindungen zwischen den einzelnen Wissensgebieten herzustellen, um gegenseitige Zusammenhänge  aufzuzeigen, und fördert damit die fachübergreifende Sicht auf die Verwandtschaft von Natur und menschlicher Gesellschaft. Sie behandelt im Detail sowohl interdisziplinäre als auch spezielle Fachgebiete, wobei jedes bedeutende Kernfach sehr tiefschürfend von herausragenden Experten dargestellt wird.   

Die Enzyklopädie dient sowohl als Handbuch als auch als Nachschlagewerk für einen großen Nutzerkreis: Von den Naturwissenschaftlern und Sozialwissenschaftlern bis hin zu den Ingenieuren, Wirtschaftswissenschaftlern, Lehrern, Studenten und Professoren, Naturschützern, Unternehmern, Gesetzgebern und Richtlinienverfassern. Das EOLSS-Project wird koordiniert vom UNESCO-EOLSS Joint Committee.

Große Anstrengungen werden unternommen, um die EOLSS weltweit der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen, und dies wird sehr begrüßt wegen der damit verbundenen Förderung  der Ausbildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung.

EOLSS-online steht kostenlos sowohl den Universitäten zur Verfügung, die auf der UN-Liste der unterentwickelten Länder stehen, als auch weltweit benachteiligten Einzelpersonen. Derzeit  profitieren folgende 50 Länder von diesem Privileg:

1              Afghanistan  17            Etiopia 34            Niger
2              Angola  18            Gambia 35            Ruanda
3              Bangladesh 19            Guinea 36            Samoa
4              Benin

20            Guinea Bissau

37            São Tomé e Principe
5              Bhutan 21            Haiti 38            Senegal
6              Burkina Faso 22            Kiribati 39            Sierra Leone
7              Burundi 23            Laos 40            Isole Salomone
8              Cambogia

24            Lesotho

41            Somalia

9              Capo Verde 25            Liberia 42            Sudan
10            Repubblica Centrafricana

26            Madagascar

43            Timor-Lesté

11            Ciad 27            Malawi

44            Togo

12            Comore

28            Maldive

45            Tuvalu

13            Repubblica Democratica  del  Congo 29            Mali 46            Uganda
14            Gibuti 30            Mauritania 47            Tanzania
15            Guinea Equatoriale 31            Mozambico

48            Vanuatu

16            Eritrea 32            Birmania 49            Yemen
  33            Nepal 50            Zambia

Stimmen zu EOLSS:

„Die Enzyklopädie der Lebenserhaltungssysteme unterscheidet sich von den traditionellen Enzyklopädien. Sie ist das Ergebnis einer beispiellosen weltweiten Bemühung, mit der versucht wird, Verbindungen zwischen den einzelnen Wissensgebieten herzustellen, um  heutige Probleme zu lösen. Als Wissensquelle, die mit unserer Sorge um Frieden, Fortschritt und nachhaltige Entwicklung verknüpft ist, erhält die EOLSS Unterstützung durch die Ethik, die Wissenschaften  und die Friedensforschung. Gleichzeitig stellt sie eine zukunftsweisende Publikation dar, die als umfassendes Handbuch für die Berufspraxis und Ausbildung sowie für die erhöhte soziale Wachsamkeit bei kritischen Problemen der Lebenserhaltung geplant wurde. Insbesondere bietet die EOLSS Perspektiven aus Regionen und Kulturen der ganzen Welt und versucht dabei geografische, rassistische, kulturelle, politische, geschlechtliche, altersmäßige und religiöse Vorurteile zu vermeiden.“
UNESCO-Generaldirektor Koichiro Matsuura

„Die EOLSS verfolgt das Ziel, eine feste Wissensbasis für zukünftige Aktivitäten bereit zu stellen, um das Lebensalter der menschlichen Rasse in einer freundlichen Umwelt zu verlängern.“
 Chemie-Nobelpreisträger Richard R. Ernst

 „Die EOLSS ist nicht nur gelungen, sondern ist unvorstellbar und einzigartig nach meinem Wissen.  Vieles was wir über  Wissenschaft, Energie und unser weitreichendes Grundwissen schreiben können, kann in den wichtgsten Enzyklopädien tatsächlich gefunden werden, aber nie als ein zentrales Themengebiet, wenn ich die EOLSS-Vision richtig verstehe. Das Themengebiet der Menschheit ist eingebettet in die Natur und begrenzt auf das Finden von Wegen, wie eine Beziehung zur Natur auf  Verständnis und Respekt aufrecht erhalten werden kann.“
 Physik-Nobelpreisträger Leo M. Lederman

 „Ökotechnik im geeigneten Verbund mit traditionellen und neuen technischen Fachgebieten - wie Biotechnik, Informationstechnik, Raumfahrttechnik, neuen Materialien, Technologien für erneuerbare Energien sowie technisches Management -  und der ökologischen Vernunft der Vergangenheit können uns helfen, die globale nachhaltige Entwicklung voran zu bringen unter Berücksichtigung einerseits der Harmonie zwischen Menschheit und Natur sowie andererseits der Toleranz und der Liebe zur Mannigfaltigkeit der zahlreichen menschlichen Gemeinschaften. Wir benötigen Veränderungen in der Technik und der öffentlichen Politik. Dieser Herausforderung sollte sich die Enzyklopädie der Lebenserhaltungssysteme stellen.“ Erster World Food-Preisträgers, M.S. Swaminathan

„Das Streben nach Wissen und Wahrheit verdrängt die gegenwärtigen Betrachtungen darüber, was die Natur, das Leben oder die Welt sind oder sein sollten, denn unsere eigene Sicht ist sehr begrenzt.Die ethische Bewertung und gesetzlichen Regelungen haben sich verändert, werden sich auch künftig ändern und müssen angepasst werden. Das Gesetz wurde für den Menschen geschaffen und nicht der Mensch für die Gesetze. Wenn es nicht mehr passend ist, sollte es verändert werden.....  Einige denken, es sei arrogant, zu versuchen, die Natur zu verändern; Arroganz erhebt den Anspruch, dass wir – so wie wir sind –perfekt sind! Mit all der erforderlichen Vorsicht und trotz den Risiken, die zu überwinden sind, muss und wird die Menschheit auf  ihrem Pfad jeden Schritt sorgfältig überlegend weiter gehen, denn wir haben kein Recht, die Lichter der Zukunft auszuschalten......  Wir müssen den Weg vom Baum des Wissens bis zur Beherrschung des Schicksals gehen.“               
Chemie-Nobelpreisträger Jean-Marie Lehn

„ Die EOLSS befasst sich  mit Lebenserhaltungssystemen.....Jedes dieser Systeme ist sehr komplex...... Wir müssen uns  diese „Systeme“ als eng verbundene „Subsysteme“ des  Systems unseres Erdplaneten vorstellen. Die Situation ist extrem verschieden bei der Modellbildung der meisten Lebenserhaltungssysteme...... Es gibt nicht ein Modell, sondern eine Hierarchie von Modellen. Beispiele für diese Situation kann man in der ganzen Enzyklopädie finden...... Schwieriger sind die globalen Probleme, die verschiedene Ziele mit möglichen Interessenskonflikten  umfassen. ..... Es wird mehr und mehr möglich, rationale Entscheidungen ins Auge zu fassen, wenn man in der Lage ist, das physikalische Modell mit ökonomischen Modellen und Finanzmodellen sowie mit menschlich bestimmten Faktoren zu verknüpfen. Diesen heiklen Fragen wird in der Enzyklopädie große Aufmerksamkeit zu widmen sein.“
Japan-Preisträger für Angewandte Mathematik J.L. Lions

„Die Bevölkerung unseres Planeten und deren Entwicklung über die Jahrhunderte bestimmen die Szene bei der Behandlung aller globaler Probleme, und es ist vernünftig, die Diskussion darüber mit dem Bevölkerungswachstum zu beginnen. .... Somit beschäftigen wir uns mit einem interdisziplinären Problem bei dem Versuch, die Erfahrung der ganzen Menschheit von   ihrem Anfang an zu beschreiben. Aber ohne die Einbeziehung der Zeit ist es nicht möglich, objektiv das gegenwärtige Geschehen  zu beurteilen und eine objektive Sicht des derzeitigen Entwicklungsstandes, also der Herausforderung , vor der die Menschheit steht,  zu erhalten.“
UNESCO-Kalinga-Preisträger S.P. Kapitza

„Unsere ganze Hoffnung auf  zukünftigen Frieden und globale Sicherheit beruht  auf einer verstärkten internationalen Zusammenarbeit zum Schutz des Netzes der Lebenserhaltungssysteme, die wir Tag für Tag so gedankenlos  zerstören. Wir haben nur einen   Anteil an einem Planeten. Wir und die künftigen Generationen können nirgendwo anders hingehen. Man darf hoffen, dass die Enzyklopädie für die erforderliche Triebkraft und Wissensunterstützung sorgt, um die Menschheit in die Lage zu versetzen, den richtigen Weg hin zu  einer nachhaltige Entwicklung einzuschlagen.“
Mustafa K. Tolba, ehemaliger Executive Director des UN-Umweltprogramms, Herausgeber von „Our Fragile World: Challenges andOpportunities for Sustainable Development“, veröffentlicht in 2 Bänden (ca. 2300 Seiten), 2001, als Vorläufer der Enzyklopädie.

„Die meisten UN-Projekte dieser Größe starten mit der Befragung von Regierungsvertretern. EOLSS hingegen wandte sich direkt an die betreffenden wissenschaftlichen Fachkreise. Von Beginn an mußten wir uns absolut darüber im Klaren sein, dass nicht eine bestimmtes Denkmodell die konzeptionelle Basis der Enzyklopädie dominiert. Mit den Tausenden von Autoren aus mehr als 100 Ländern haben die Herausgeber einen  sich selbst regelnden Mechanismus etabliert, der sicher stellt, dass die Themen von einer Vielzahl von Kulturkreisen mit unterschiedlichen Perspektiven behandelt werden.“
Andras Szollosi-Nagy, Mitglied des UNESCO-EOLSS Joint Committee und Direktor des Internationalen Hydrologie-Programms der UNESCO.

Zur Erläuterung: Im Jahre 1996 trafen sich einige Hundert Wissenschaftler, Ingenieure und politisch verantwortliche Persönlichkeiten, um den Rahmen dieses Projektes abzustecken, bevor die Details der Beiträge diskutiert wurden. In regional  veranstalteten Workshops in Washington DC, Tokio, Moskau, Mexico City, Peking, Panama, Abu Sultan (Ägypten) und Kuala Lumpur wurde eine Liste der möglichen Themenbereiche aufgestellt und die detaillierte Vorgehensweise bei der Abfassung besprochen.

Expertengruppen arbeiten ständig daran, die verschiedenen Teilbereiche der ins Internet gestellten Enzyklopädie auf den neuesten Stand zu bringen. „ Dadurch wird die EOLSS zu einer lebendigen, virtuellen Bibliothek, somit  zu einem Ort der Handlung und nicht nur eine reine Publikation“, so Mustafa El Tayeb, Direktor der Abteilung für Wissenschaftspolitik und nachhaltige Entwicklung der UNESCO und Sekretär des UNESCO-EOLSS Joint Comittee. Bald wird diese Enzyklopädie ihre volle Größe erreicht haben mit etwa 70 Millionen Worten (entspricht ungefähr 200 Bänden), wobei monatlich Beiträge hinzugefügt und vorhandene auf den aktuellen Stand gebracht werden. Die EOLSS entwickelt sich schnell zu dem am häufigsten nachgefragten Handbuch der Welt.
 


 

© Copyright 2002-2016 Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems.
|  Terms of Use & Disclaimer  |   Privacy Policy  |

|   
More e-books will be available soon

   www.eolss.net

Login Login
      EOLSS Members Login Individual Members Login
      Access for Institutions Access for Institutions
      EOLSS Demo EOLSS Demo

Free Registration Free Registration
      EOLSS Free Trial Free Trial
      EOLSS Editors/Authors Editors/Authors

Subscription Information Subscription Information
      EOLSS Subscription Information Subscription Information

About EOLSS About EOLSS
      About EOLSS About EOLSS
      Outlines of the EOLSS Components Outlines of the
         Component Encyclopedias
      EOLSS e-books e-Book And Print
       Volumes
      EOLSS Information Booklet Information Booklet
      EOLSS FAQ FAQ
      EOLSS Sample Chapters Sample Chapters
      EOLSS Sample Chapters Sitemap

Journalist/Reporters Information for
   Journalist / Reporters
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Arabic Arabic
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Chinese Chinese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in English English
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in French French
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in German German
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Italian Italian
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Japanese Japanese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Korean Korean
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Portuguese Portuguese
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Russian Russian
      EOLSS Information Journalist / Reporters in Spanish Spanish

Services Services
     EOLSS Mailing List Join Our Mailing List
      EOLSS Feedback Feedback/Evaluation
      EOLSS Useful links Useful Links

An Encyclopedia with a difference:
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF LIFE SUPPORT SYSTEMS (EOLSS)

Arabic |Chinese* |French |German |Italian |Japanese |Russian* |Portuguese |Spanish | Korean

(* will be available soon)

The World’s largest, state-of-the-art, educational, professional, informative, and integrated knowledge base dedicated to the health, maintenance, and future of the web of life on planet Earth, focusing on sustainable development in all its myriad aspects from ecological issues to human security!

The EOLSS is the result of an unprecedented global effort and a decade of planning. The leading experts who have contributed to this state-of-the-art publication come from diverse fields.

Peer reviewed body of state-of-the-art archival knowledge edited by over 395 subject experts with contributions from over 8000 reputed authors from more than 100 countries. The content covers more than 235 major theme subjects as an integrated compendium of 20 component encyclopedias.

1.  EARTH AND ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES
2.  MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES
3.  BIOLOGICAL, PHYSIOLOGICAL AND HEALTH SCIENCES
4.  BIOTECHNOLOGY
5.  TROPICAL BIOLOGY AND CONSERVATION OF NATURAL RESOURCES
6.  LAND USE, LAND COVER AND SOIL SCIENCES
7.  SOCIAL SCIENCES AND HUMANITIES
8.  PHYSICAL SCIENCES, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
9.  CHEMICAL SCIENCES ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
10. CONTROL SYSTEMS, ROBOTICS AND AUTOMATION
11. WATER SCIENCES, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
12. ENERGY SCIENCES, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
13. ENVIRONMENTAL AND ECOLOGICAL SCIENCES, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
14. FOOD AND AGRICULTURAL SCIENCES, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES
15. HUMAN RESOURCES POLICY, DEVELOPMENT AND MANAGEMENT
16. NATURAL RESOURCES POLICY AND MANAGEMENT
17. DEVELOPMENT AND ECONOMIC SCIENCES
18. INSTITUTIONAL AND INFRASTRUCTURAL RESOURCES
19. TECHNOLOGY, INFORMATION AND SYSTEM MANAGEMENT RESOURCES
20. AREA STUDIES (REGIONAL SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT REVIEWS):
       Brazil, China, Japan, USA and Canada, Europe, Russia.

 

Through the many and diverse consultation exercises around the world, the EOLSS has benefited immensely from the academic, intellectual, and scholarly advice of each and every member of the nearly 1000-strong International Editorial Council, which includes Nobel and UN Kalinga Laureates, World Food Prize Laureates and several fellows of academies of science and engineering of countries throughout the world.

EOLSS was officially released on the Internet at (www.eolss.net ) by the UNESCO Director General on the 3rd September 2002 during the World Summit on Sustainable Development in Johannesburg, South Africa.

It attempts to forge pathways between disciplines in order to show their interdependence and helps foster the transdisciplinary aspects of the relationship between nature and human society. It deals in detail with interdisciplinary subjects, but it is also disciplinary as each major core subject is covered in great depth, by world experts. 

The Encyclopedia is designed to be a guide and reference for a wide range of users: from natural and social scientists to engineers, economists, educators, university students and professors, conservationists, entrepreneurs, law and policy-makers. The EOLSS project is coordinated by the UNESCO-EOLSS Joint Committee.

Best efforts are being made to make the EOLSS widely accessible to the global public and this effort is widely admired for espousing education for sustainable development.

EOLSS-online is made available free of charge to universities in the UN list of least developed countries and disadvantaged individuals worldwide.  Presently the following 50 nations are enjoying this privilege:

1              Afghanistan  17            Etiopia 34            Niger
2              Angola  18            Gambia 35            Ruanda
3              Bangladesh 19            Guinea 36            Samoa
4              Benin

20            Guinea Bissau

37            São Tomé e Principe
5              Bhutan 21            Haiti 38            Senegal
6              Burkina Faso 22            Kiribati 39            Sierra Leone
7              Burundi 23            Laos 40            Isole Salomone
8              Cambogia

24            Lesotho

41            Somalia

9              Capo Verde 25            Liberia 42            Sudan
10            Repubblica Centrafricana

26            Madagascar

43            Timor-Lesté

11            Ciad 27            Malawi

44            Togo

12            Comore

28            Maldive

45            Tuvalu

13            Repubblica Democratica  del  Congo 29            Mali 46            Uganda
14            Gibuti 30            Mauritania 47            Tanzania
15            Guinea Equatoriale 31            Mozambico

48            Vanuatu

16            Eritrea 32            Birmania 49            Yemen
  33            Nepal 50            Zambia

 

“The Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems is different from traditional encyclopedias. It is the result of an unprecedented world-wide effort that has attempted to forge pathways between disciplines in order to address contemporary problems” said UNESCO Director General Koïchiro Matsuura. “A source-book of knowledge that links together our concern for peace, progress, and sustainable development, the EOLSS draws sustenance from the ethics, science and culture of peace. At the same time, it is a forward-looking publication, designed as a global guide to professional practice, education, and heightened social awareness of critical life support issues. In particular, the EOLSS presents perspectives from regions and cultures around the world, and seeks to avoid geographic, racial, cultural, political, gender, age, or religious bias.”

“EOLSS has the goal to provide a firm knowledge base for future activities to prolong the lifetime of the human race in a hospitable environment”, according to Richard R. Ernst, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry.

Leon M. Lederman, Nobel Laureate in Physics remarked: “The EOLSS is not only appropriate, but it is imaginative and, to my knowledge, unique. Much of what we can write about science, about energy, about our far-ranging knowledge base, can indeed be found in major encyclopedias, but as I understand your vision, never as a central theme; the theme of humanity, embedded in nature and constrained to find ways of maintaining a relationship with nature based upon understanding and respect.”

In the words of M.S. Swaminathan, First World Food Prize Winner, “Ecotechnology involving appropriate blends of traditional technologies and the ecological prudence of the past with frontier technologies such as biotechnology, information technology, space technology, new materials, renewable energy technology and management technology, can help us to promote global sustainable development involving harmony between humankind and nature on the one hand and tolerance and love of diversity and pluralism in human societies on the other. We need shifts in technology and public policy. This is a challenging task to which the Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems should address itself.”

According to Jean-Marie Lehn, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry : “Pursuit of knowledge and truth supersedes present considerations of what nature, life or the world are or should be, for our own vision can only be a narrow one. Ethical evaluation and rules of justice have changed and will change over time and will have to adapt. Law is made for man, not man for law. If it does not fit any more, change it…. Some think that it is being arrogant to try to modify nature; arrogance is to claim that we are perfect as we are! With all the caution that must be exercised and despite the risks that will be encountered, carefully pondering each step, mankind must and will continue along its path, for we have no right to switch off the lights of the future…. We have to walk the path from the tree of knowledge to the control of destiny.”

J.L. Lions, Japan Prize winner in Applied Mathematics said:  “EOLSS is concerned with the Life Support Systems…. Each of these systems is a very complex one. …we have to think of all these “systems” as closely related “subsystems” of the Planet Earth System. The situation is extremely different in most of life support systems modeling…. There is not one model, but a hierarchy of models. Examples of these situations will be given throughout the Encyclopedia. … More delicate are the global problems, involving several goals, with possible conflicts of interest. …Rational decisions will be more and more possible to envision if one will be able to couple the physical modeling to economic and financial models and to human factors…. These delicate and fundamental questions will deserve a lot of attention in the Encyclopedia.”

S.P. Kapitza, UNESCO Kalinga Prize Winner said: “The population of our planet and its development over the ages sets the scene for considering all global problems and it is reasonable to begin their discussion with population growth. … Thus we are dealing with an interdisciplinary problem in an attempt to describe the total human experience, right from its very beginning. But without this perspective of time it is not possible to objectively assess what is happening today and provide an objective view of the present state of development, the challenge now facing humanity.”

“Our best hopes for future peace and global security rely upon strengthened international cooperation to protect the web of life support systems that we destroy, so ridiculously, day in and day out. We share only one planet. We—and future generations—have nowhere else to go,” according to Mostafa K. Tolba, formerly Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme and the editor of ‘Our Fragile World: Challenges and Opportunities for Sustainable Development’ a two volume publication in about 2300 pages published in 2001 as forerunner to the Encyclopedia. “It is hoped that the encyclopedia will provide the necessary impetus and knowledge support to enable humanity to choose the right direction to move towards sustainable development.”

“Most United Nations projects of this size begin by consulting government representatives. But EOLSS went straight to the scientific communities involved,” said Andras Szollosi-Nagy, a member of the UNESCO-EOLSS Joint Committee and Director of UNESCO’s International Hydrological Programme. In 1996 thousands of scientists, engineers and policy-makers began meeting just to define the scope of the project, before discussing the details of the contributions. Regional workshops were held in Washington DC, Tokyo, Moscow, Mexico City, Beijing, Panama, Abu Sultan (Egypt), and Kuala Lumpur to develop a list of possible subjects and debate analytical approaches for treating them.

“From the start, we had to be absolutely certain that one school of thought did not dominate the conceptual basis of the encyclopedia,” said Szollosi-Nagy. “This democratic process guided every step in the encyclopedia’s development. With thousands of authors from more than 100 countries the editors have set up a self-regulating mechanism to ensure that the subjects are considered from a variety of cultures and perspectives.”

Teams of experts are working to regularly update the various sections of the web-based encyclopedia, making EOLSS a “living virtual library and a site for action rather than just a publication,” according to Mustafa El Tayeb, Director, Division for Science Policy and Sustainable Development (SC/PSD), UNESCO and Secretary of the UNESCO-EOLSS Joint Committee. Soon, it will mature to its full size of about 70 million words (equivalent to about 200 volumes) by augmentation and updating as often as every month. EOLSS is rapidly becoming the most sought after reference site in the World.

 

 


© Copyright 2002-2016 Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems.
|  Terms of Use & Disclaimer  |   Privacy Policy  |